Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Blog Tour: GUARDIAN (Proxy, #2) by Alex London -- Review + Giveaway [Debbie]




GUARDIAN (Proxy, #2) by Alex London
Release Date: May 29, 2014
Hardcover, 352 pages
Publisher: Philomel
Genre: YA / Dystopian / LGBT

The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.



In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.


People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.


This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.


A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

Amazon | B&N | IndieBound | Goodreads


This was such an amazing book, told in perfect writing detail. I loved the fact that there was FINALLY diversity within the writing and the characters.


Very rarely, I come across a book that manages to surprise me.


From the first sentence, I knew that all of my assumptions and hesitations were going to be irrelevant, and what followed was one of the most exciting and surprisingly multi-layered works of YA fiction I have ever read. 


The most interesting and unique plot is the proxy system, introduced in this book. When rich kids (patrons) in the Upper City break the law or do something punishable, they are forced to sit and watch the punishment (usually some form of electrical shock, though forced labor also comes into play) be taken out on their proxy. The proxies never see or meet their patrons. In one of the novel's best written and most memorable scenes, we watch as a patron experiences psychological suffering while watching his proxy's physical suffering during punishment. This book goes to some very dark places, and this is a scene that will stick with me for a long time.

  
Alex London shows no fear in the writing of this novel. He goes places that most writers hesitate to bring up. He tells his story his way and doesn't let society pressures or what might be popular deter him from getting his voice heard. 
  

This book was five stars all the way!  


Chapter One – GUARDIAN by Alex London

At night, they disposed of the bodies. There was no ceremony, no ritual, no remembrance.

“They’re human,” some argued.

“They were human,” said others. “Now they’re meat.”

“We have to study the infection,” said the doctor.

“We have to contain it,” said the counselor and gave her orders. “Burn the bodies.”

A work detail was tasked with the burning. One by one, in the dead of night, green uniforms with white masks hauled corpses to the pile. The corpses were webbed with black veins, their entire network of blood vessels visible through the pale skin. Dried blood obscured their faces and each had a single hole in the temple by the eyes, where the killing bolt went in. They were put down like livestock, burned like sacrifices.

As the bodies crackled, the doctor watched the flames, her face half in shadow, half dancing in firelight. “I believe there is a cure for this,” she said.

The counselor, standing beside her, nodded, but did not turn to look her way. “Your cure is worse than the disease.”

“You believe that?”

“It’s the truth. Your way is treason.”


“You’re in denial,” the doctor said. “This is going to get worse if we don’t stop it.”

“It’s a new world, Doctor,” the counselor replied. “We can’t turn back the clock.”

“Even to save people’s lives?”

“These”—the counselor gestured at the bodies—“are not people.”

“If it spreads?”

“Is it spreading?”


The doctor watched the young members of the work detail tossing the bodies on the pyre. They moved with the assurance of youth, the kind of attitude that allowed them to stare infection and death in the face and believe it would never touch them. “I don’t know.”

“It is your job to know.”

“I can hardly understand it. The blood turns against the body. Itching, burning. Then, expulsion. Half of them bleed out.”

“And the other half?”

The doctor clenched her jaw. “They haven’t bled out yet.”

“They are in pain?”

“They can’t communicate, but we have to restrain them to keep them from scratching their skin off with their fingernails.” The doctor sighed. “So, yes, they are in pain.”

“Put them out of their misery,” the counselor ordered.

“But, we can still learn—”

“Those are the orders.” The counselor walked away, two green uniforms trailing her into the jungle. The doctor took off her white smock, pulled the blue gloves from her hands with a loud synthetic snap, and stood before the flames. She watched her latest failed experiments turn to smoke and ash in the bonfire, every bit of blood boiled away, with all the information it might have contained.

She had ideas, dangerous to share; but if she didn’t find a way, she feared, this sickness would go further than any of them could imagine. She would record a message in case she failed. She hoped that someone would still be alive to receive it.


Read the Exclusive 3 Chapters from London’s new release, GUARDIAN here: http://bit.ly/SgMw3b 
You can read the short story PUNISHMENT, the PROXY prequel on Wattpad for free right now! Meet Syd, Knox, and Liam (from Guardian) at 15... http://w.tt/1mtouLm




C. Alexander London grew up in Baltimore, Maryland. He's an author of nonfiction for grown-ups (under a slightly different not very secret name), books for teens (as Alex London...see above), and, younger readers. He once won a 12-gauge skeet-shooting tournament because no one else had signed up in his age group. He's a Master SCUBA diver who hasn't been diving in way too long, and, most excitingly, a fully licensed librarian. He used to know the Dewey Decimal System from memory.

He doesn't anymore.
While traveling as a journalist, he watched television in 23 countries (Burmese soap operas were the most confusing; Cuban news reports were the most dull), survived an erupting volcano in the Democratic Republic of Congo, a hurricane on small island in the Caribbean, 4 civil wars (one of them was over by the time he got there, thankfully), and a mysterious bite on his little toe in the jungles of Thailand. The bite got infected and swollen and gross and gave him a deep mistrust of lizards, even though it probably wasn't a lizard that bit him.
Although he has had many adventures, he really does prefer curling up on the couch and watching some good television or reading a book. He enjoys danger and intrigue far more when it's happening to somebody else.
He lives in Brooklyn, NY.


 Blog





August 7th - Book Chic Club – Review/Interview

August 8th - Cheryl Rainfield ~ Guest Post

August 9th - Bookish – Spotlight

August 9th - I Read It & Wept ~ Review (Proxy/Guardian)/GP

August 9th - Like A Bump On A Blog – Spotlight

August 10th - Book Escape – Top 10/ Spotlight

August 11thA Leisure Moment ~ Review (Proxy/Guardian)

August 11thReads All The Books – Review (Proxy/Guardian)

August 12thDebbie Bookish – Review (Proxy/Guardian)

August 13thUnconventional Librarian – Review

August 14thWord Spelunking ~ Review (Guardian)

August 14thKate Tilton's Blog – GIF Interview

August 15th - Fangirlish – Review (Proxy/Guardian)

August 15th - What A Nerd Girl Says – Review (Guardian)

August 16th - Books To Remember – Review (Guardian)

August 16th - A Bookshelf Full of Sunshine – Review (Guardian)

August 16th - The Reading Date ~ Review (Guardian)

August 16th - Reading Fictional ~ Review (Proxy/Guardian)

September - Bookish Tiffany – Review (Proxy/Guardian)

September - Bookish ~ Review (Proxy/Guardian)



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Hosted by: